Dylan Thomas Prize shortlist

The Dylan Thomas Prize judges have announced their shortlist for this year’s prize. You can read more about it here but the shortlist is:

  • ‘The Doll Princess’ by Tom Benn
  • ‘The White Shadow’ by Andrea Eames
  • ‘The Spider King’s Daughter by Chibundu Onuzo
  • ‘Seating Arrangements’ by Maggie Shipstead
  • ‘Once You Break a Knuckle’ by DW Wilson

I matched four of these titles in my fantasy shortlist for Wales Arts Review although I cheated slightly by drawing up a list of six. ‘The Doll Princess’ is very good but I would have preferred to have seen Amelia Gray or Lucy Wood take that fifth place. We find out who the judges choose as the winner on 9th November. I’d stick with my first instinct which is ‘The White Shadow.’

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s